Setting up new tank - 25G flatback hex - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
Setting up new tank - 25G flatback hex

This journal will be text-only; last night I realized my digital camera has disappeared.

Under the Substrate thread "I'm confused" I talked about not knowing what substrate to use. In this tank I have decided to use a moderately coarse sand I got at a local landscape supply place; I filtered it through a large kitchen strainer, letting the sand that came through collect in a bucket which was tilted so that the silt-sized stuff ran out of the bucket and the water became clear. Today I bought pieces of flagstone, which is a thin-bedded sandstone. There is a bit of iron mineralization, not much - it might provide a few ppm of iron to the water. Being a geologist, I do not worry abot the stone. Tomorrow I will put in the sand and the flagstone in such a way to duplicate a ripple area. I will try to photograph the result with a film camera.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 09:36 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (153/100%)
That sounds alright. Depending upon how fine the sand is you might see some compaction, but some plants ought to be able to grow in it OK.
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

The sand is rather coarse and pretty well sorted - at least as much so as PFS - so I am hoping that compaction will not be much of a problem.

post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 10:57 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Awwww....sorry to hear about your camera! That really sucks!

I really like the FBH tanks, so if you can find your camera, I'd love to see it when it's done!

Kenny
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member