JakeJ's 20g low tech Convict aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 85 (permalink) Old 09-20-2009, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
JakeJ's 20g low tech Convict aquarium

Hello, I am new to planted tanks and aquariums in genral. This is my first planted tank and I am loving the hobby!!! So now to the tank specs.
Aqaurium: 20gallon high from Petsmart
filter: Tetra Whisper 30i internal filter
Heater: Tetra whisper heater
Subtrate: aquarium gravel
Plants: Java moss and dieing java fern
Fish: Convict Cichlids
Lighting: 1, 17 watt florecent tube !Will upgrade soon!
Other decor: lots of slate
Do I need more lighting even if I only have Java moss, Fern, and anubias? Also, does anybody know why my Java fern is looking so bad? I got them from Petsmart even though they didnt look good, at all. Is their any way of saving them? I regularly dose Leaf Zone, liquid fertilizer, should I dose other ferts too? Comments, suggestions and criticizems are appreciated! Sorry about the bad pics, I havent gotten use to aquarium photography! Thanks in advance,
JakeJ

"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3

Last edited by RipariumGuy; 12-21-2009 at 02:06 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 85 (permalink) Old 09-20-2009, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

Another question. With my lighting, how long should I have the lights on?

"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu