Chubbi - 40B High Tech, First Attempt. - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 09-15-2015, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Chubbi - 40B High Tech, First Attempt.

40B Dutch/Grow Out Attempt

Thank you for all the information I've been able to find here, it has really inspired me!

I'm fairly new to the aquarium hobby but so far so good.
This is my 40g Breeder I've spent the last few months planning what would go into making a successful tank at this size. Again thank you for all of the wonderful advice that has gone into helping me get to this point. I would never have been able to do it without this amazing helpful community. At this point I've actually purchased very few plants, many wonderful members through roak's and gifts have help me to accumulate my wonderful array of plants. Forgive me as I build this journal to help others and track my tank over time. Initially it my be a little rough but hopefully with time it will all come together!

Equipment-

Tank:
Petco $1 per Gallon Sale 40B

Filter:
SunSun 304B, removed the spraybar and have it flowing through the 90 degree return.

Eheim Skim 350

Koralia Nano 240? I forget exactly helping to create a circular flow throughout the tank

Substrate:
Carib Sea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium @ 2-4 inches deep from front to back. 3 bags total ( should have done 4) (root tabs added)

Light:
I currently have two wonderful BML's above one is a 10k and the other a 6500 Dutch. I have the Dutch in the front aimed slightly back, and the 10k directly downward over my thicker stems in the back. (Thank you Bret)
Both are running 8 hours at 45 and 55%% intensity currently. 4-12pm

Co2:
Custom built dual stage regulator by AlanLe here on the forums attached to a 20# Co2 Tank.

This leads to a Fluval bubble counter, and into a GLA 70mm in tank Atomizer w/ check valve.
I use GLA's co2 tubing as well.
Milwaukee Ph Controller set for 1ph drop

Floura: