Anchlo's 75gal first attempt at a planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-04-2009, 04:51 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
Anchlo's 75gal first attempt at a planted tank

Thought it would be pretty cool to start a journal so here it goes...

This is my first attempt at a planted tank. I have been reading and collecting items for a couple years and finally had time to start.

TANK SPECS:

Standard 75E tank
Coral life 4 foot CF light 4X65W 6700K- Lights are on a timer-2hours using 130W then six hours of full 260W then back to 130 for the last hour...
DIY stand
A ZOO CO2 regulator, needle valve, bubble counter...
CO2 is currently injected into a glass diffuser then bubbles into a Hagen mini filter... CO2 is misted every where but Im not sure how effective it really is?
Eheim 2217 standard media, stock spray bar.

SUBSTRATE:

first layer pure laterite thin layer on bottom
3-4" of red flourite in the back
2-3" of eco complete for the foreground
Root tabs sperad through out

WATER:

using full tap water... Our local water seems pretty good... PH at 7.4, GH at 6 KH at 4...

PLANTS:

HC foreground
Baby tears
Hygro
chain sword
dwarf sag
rotalla
anubias
java fern
Ludwiga
Bacopa M.- picked up at a local golf course!

FISH:

6 SAES
2 RCS

DOSING:

EI method
MWF-NPK
TU TH-CSM and Excell
Sunday water change about 6 inches from the top...

I didnt really have a "plan" for a scape just kinda threw it in there. I knew I wanted to have the HC carpet though!

HARD SCAPE

DIY STAND- costs 40 dollars and about 5 minutes to build! I know it looks like crap but its not finished yet...lol

DAY ONE AFTER FILLING:

CO2 20lb bottle

HC Pearling nicely!

RCS:

SAES

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-04-2009, 05:07 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

TWO WEEKS LATER.....

The water doesnt seem that clear? Dont know if its not fully cycled or if its the misty co2?