Basement Budget Build (Tank Rack) Native Plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-11-2015, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Thumbs up Basement Budget Build (Tank Rack) Native Plants

I am new to planted tanks, I am preparing to aquascape some nicer tanks I have in my bedroom this winter with all native plants. Until I am ready I need to collect native plants before they go dormant, and keep them alive in holding tanks which is the purpose of this build.

I picked up a metal shelving rack for free on the side of the road and bolted it to the wall after leveling. I then managed to find a used 10 gallon Aqua Culture tank still in the box also for free on the side of the road, and a new Top Fin 5.5 gallon tank never used in the box for $10 including a new HOB!

The LED hood that came with the 5.5 gallon was pathetic so I ordered two 9W 10K bulbs from China for $6 each, then removed the lenses to soften the light they work perfect!

I de-rimmed the 10 gallon with no issue, and I have a temporary 10W 6500K floodlight on the bottom that has been working perfectly to light my 10 gallon and the plants I have on the floor. I like the 10K much better and plants do too, its not enough to look like a reef tank to me, also in this photo I just did a water change on the 10 gallon after a week and the 5.5 gallon has week old water in it...after I shut the lights off and compared the two tanks I could instantly see the algae in my 5.5 gallon so 10K helps hide minor algae very well!!

I am using all ceramic pots because they breath much better for the roots, this was a week ago when I first collected plants:

Here it is a week later I can never get Fanwort (Cabomba) to grow as you can see it has lost its green hue and will soon fall apart, the what I think is Parrots Feather (Myriophyllum Aquaticum) is making a come back I think it will make it: