150 gallon high tech&light tank.... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-10-2009, 01:43 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
150 gallon high tech&light tank....

INTRO
Wow, i must say i have seen some stunning tanks on here. I am pretty new to this hobby as far as plants go, but i have kept fresh water fish, and reefs for years. My introduction to this hobby was accidently stumbling onto Amano's tanks, as well as the top ten tanks in a magazine. In many of my cichlid tanks i have always kept live plants as apposed to plastic, but never anything as seriouse as this. I am starting this build thread in hopes to learn your wonderful hobby as well as document my tank. So if your here and read this long post please offer me some advice.

Tank
My tank is an AGA 150 gallon tank. Tank was purchased in my attempts to set up a large reef. I have actually been sitting on this tank for 6 months waiting to start it up. Due to a move i decided to hold off until we moved, giving me time to build a custom stand, and aquire and sell my salt equipment. The tank is reef ready and will drain to a sump beneath. I have built my stand pipes very tall to eliminate turbulance in my overflows to keep gas exchange to a minimum.

Equipment List

Have
1.Tank
2.Sump
3.Return Pump
4.Two reactors i will use for carbon and other chem. filtration.
5.Mag12 return pump
6.2x250w metal halides

Need
1. Co2 system ( Need help on this. Was thinking semi automatic on account i want to budget about 150$ to this. Is this one any good?)
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...35&pcatid=9935
2. Bio-Balls
3. Rock
4. Substrate (need lots of help here, no idea what to use)
5. Ferts (again no clue please help)

If i have missed anything please help and bring to my attention. It is my goal to do this right and jump in head first. Now for some images of what i have so far.

1.Tank

Stand i built

Tank and stand

Lights