29 Gallon Fully Planted planning --first tank ever, lots of questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
29 Gallon Fully Planted planning --first tank ever, lots of questions

I recently bought a 29 gallon aquarium on sale at petco during the '$1/gallon' sale. It's my first try at keeping fish and I thought 'oh, hey, what a bargain, I'll take it home, add some pretty rocks, maybe a plant or two and a few fish and it'll be awesome.'

Well, I started researching how to cycle a tank so I wouldn't murder my fish, then wondered if you could cycle a tank with the plants planted and here I am two weeks later going 'I am going to fully plant this and it shall be GLORIOUS! AND THEN FILL IT WITH TEENY TINY FISHES!'

And of course every single thing that I uncover, I find another thing that I go OH MAN A NEW THING TO RESEARCH AND DEBATE!

So I guess I'll just post my plan and debates and hope someone weighs in?

Planned setup:
29 gallon tank (30inLx18inDx12inW)
light (debate: Fluval Fresh and Plant with added ramping timer or Current Satellite Pro?)
SunSun Canister filter
Black substrate (debate: Floramax, dirted (topped with floramax?) or some kind of black sand?)

Aquascaping plans:
Carpet front half of tank in HC (dwarf baby tears, right?) with 'dry start' method.
Taller plants in back half, still determining these.
Slope from front to back.
Driftwood to imitate tree roots in one back third, with rocks under
Java moss or something of that nature on rocks/driftwood

Tank inhabitants (Definitely up for debate. Planning one species every month once tank with live plants and donor filter media has cycled for a couple weeks, do not want to massively overstock!):
Endler's Livebearers (so cute!) 5-10
Galaxy rasbora 5-10
Golden dwarf barb 5-10
Betta (for crowd control of the livebearers)
Shrimps of some kind