Finally getting it going! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 08-04-2009, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (25/100%)
Finally getting it going!

I finally have the time and energy to start a planted tank. This is my first attempt at writing a journal and my first planted tank. Nothing major really, just an ADA 60p and the usual stuff to go with it. The d.i.y stand can be found here.

I have a 10lb CO2 tank that I purchased here, a Rex regulator with an Ideal needle valve I've order about two years ago but never got around to using because of renovations, sale and purchase of a home and not to mention the move and more renovations.

So finally, I'm able to relax and start my planted aquarium.

I'll begin with the pipe I used to hang the Tek lights from:

This little guy was great at getting the shavings nice and smooth:

When I was done with that I put the cable through the pipe after bending it of course Oh, I also used some old hole covers (spares that were laying around) for the end of the pipe from my leather office chair.

When both sides were done, I screwed the brackets on the back of the stand for the poles and this is the end result:

Here is a closer look at the leveler:

This is what it looks like from the side. I decided to go with the One Point Adjustable Cable Hanging Kit. The cable is so long that you can see the extra in the tank:

This is what the setup looks like:

Here's another shot:

I'll be experimenting with CO2. I got my hands on a Cal Aqua Labs CO2 diffuser at about the same time I bought the regulator. I got it shipped to me from Asia somewhere, I think it was Singapore although I'm not sure. Its been so long since I purchased it (I bought it directly from the manufacturer).