My 75 planted community tank w/sump *photo heavy* - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My 75 planted community tank w/sump *photo heavy*

Hi Everyone!,

I am kind of weird in the fact that I started out with saltwater reef keeping and now am delving into a planted tank. I've been doing saltwater for about 5+ years and decided to get out of it. Too much upkeep. Now I started my first freshwater tank and wanted to share it with you guys. Though I am experienced with fish keeping in general, planted tanks are a new frontier for me. I've had this system up for about 3 weeks now.

I am starting out with a 75gal tank that I bought from a friend of mine. It's drilled with an overflow. My buddy did a DIY 3d background using portland cement. He ran the tank for the better part of a year with no stock in it and just doing water changes to leech the pH out of the cement. I'm having a mild difficulty with pH despite that, but I'll get into that later on.

I did not have a stand for the tank when I bought it from him. So, I built my own! Cost about $90 in materials and would probably support a 150gal tall. I overbuilt it a little bit. But hey, better safe than sorry. I built 3 doors on it. Two on the front and one on the side for easy sump removal if I ever needed to do that.

Speaking of sumps, I am using a 30 gallon tank as a sump. I had some lexan cut and made baffles to seperate the return section from the drain section. Using some bonded filter padding between two of the baffles as my filter media. Planning on changing that out whenever it gets too clogged up. I have two return pumps. One moving about 650gph considering head pressure, the other about 450gph considering head pressure. Total water volume of the tank and sump is about 90 gallons. In all, the tank volume of water is being cycled about 12 times an hour through the sump.