Debincalif's Planted 24g Nanocube - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-06-2015, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Debincalif's Planted 24g Nanocube

This is my first attempt at a planted tank. It's been probably 15+ years since I've had a freshwater system; I've been keeping saltwater reef systems in the interim. The JBJ nanocube has chambers in the back to house all of the equipment, which give the tank a nice, clean look. This was most recently a nano reef that I broke down. I sold the equipment, livestock, and live rock to fund this venture back into freshwater. It almost covered the initial "damages". As of now, the tank is cycling and I have not attempted any aquascaping. The rocks and wood are in the tank with the plants and I am getting ideas on just how I want the scape to look.

- Filtration makes use of the tank's return pump. I have an InTank media basket which holds (from top to bottom) a filter pad, activated carbon (this may change down the road), and biomedia (Fluval BioMax Media).

- The temp is set at 78* via a 50 watt heater (Eheim Jager TruTemp) in the tank's middle chamber.

- Lighting is provided via a Kessil A160WE Tuna Sun mounted on a gooseneck over the tank.

- The substrate I went with is CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate, which was recommended by the folks at my favorite LFS. Hardscaping includes about 8 lbs. of lace/bowl rock and just over a pound of driftwood and spider wood.

- Plants include Amazon swords, hornwort, cardinal plants, anubius, microsword, and a small moss ball.

- Livestock has not been finalized, but I am considering Endler's livebearers with threadfin rainbows and dwarf cory cats.

I hope you'll follow along with me on my journey back to the "fresh side"!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-08-2015, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower