My first attempt at a planted tank. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My first attempt at a planted tank.

Hello All.

I'm totally new to this game and still trying to get my head round it. Having kept Malawi Cichlids for years I recently decided it was time for a change and so three months later here is my first attempt. Any comments or ideas, especially suggestions for something to fill the space in the background would be gratefully received.

Thanks, Al

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 12:12 PM

I think this tank looks lovely
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 01:21 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
Send a message via AIM to FrostyNYC
Rotala rotundifiola is a really easy plant that grows quickly and would fill up your background with a pink that would pop against those lime green hygros. Great job on the hygro btw, it looks great.

The moss tied to your driftwood looks like it's dying though. What's going on there?

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks for the compliments.

You are right, the moss on the upright piece of driftwood (picture needs rotating) did die off.

I had problem with staghorn and BBA and that was the worst affected area. When the tank was half empty whilst doing a water change I dosed that piece directly with neat easy-carbo, which killed the algae but unfortunately the moss as well. It is on its way back now though.

As I say, I am a total novice so I suppose I will have to make some mistakes in order to learn.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 01:59 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (8/100%)
Great looking tank. Wish mine looked as good! I really like the light green in the middle with darker greens on the sides.
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 03:28 PM
FSM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)