A Planted Tank for an Uber Car - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A Planted Tank for an Uber Car

Hi all. I'm an Uber Plus driver in LA, in some markets they call it Uber Select. Uber pays the bills, but my passion is planted aquaria. I want to bring my work and passion together by building a planted tank in my car. I know, right now you are thinking of the ethical implications....This will be a planted tank. No fish, no inverts. I already have 110 volt power installed and wired into the car for my customers who use laptops etc. So I can easily use lighting, heaters etc.

A few considerations....

My vehicle is a BMW328
This tank will be small, likely 2 gallons max.
I have to figure out how to put a sealed top on the tank.
I have 3 seat belts for passengers, I can't take up any seating for the tank.
I would use the top of the center console, but the space would be limited.
I don't want to damage the car, So mounting brackets etc must install inconspicuously.
It would be great if I could remove the tank easily, yet, the tank must be fastened securely.

Perhaps you are thinking how silly this is. Consider that I spend 8-10 hours a day in my car, why not bring my enthusiasm for planted aquaria to my work place? Currently I have the Takashi Amano Nature Aquarium Books in my car for passengers to look at. I put them there during daylight hours and I have literally felt the stress level lower when passengers look through the books.

This will take some time to complete, but I figured that with some input I could get things figured out faster than trial and error on my own.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 07:08 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Consider doing dual nano tanks in the adjustable head rests?