Journal: My First 10 Gallon Tank- Rescape Aug 2nd (56k) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 86 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 08:48 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Journal: My First 10 Gallon Tank- Rescape Aug 2nd (56k)

Hello all,

I have been lurking around on this forum for quite a while I just haven’t posted anything. There are so many beautiful tanks out there; I couldn’t help but to look at most of them.

Well, I guess you could say that I am a complete noob, because I got my very first tank around 5 months ago. I wanted a Betta, so I got a 10 gallon tank, blue gravel, which is the worst decision I ever made, and some plastic plants. Then I cycled the tank (don’t worry, I cycled the tank PROPERLY, ammonia and all) and put in my new Betta, Aqua. All was fine for a while, but then my taste completely changed. (Fast enough?) I hated the blue gravel and the plastic plants. It all just looked so Fake. so I decided to change to planted. I went out and got a 20Lb bag of Eco complete, switched the incandescent blubs to 2- 10 watt compact fluorescents and, of course, the plants. I got 1 java fern, Anubias, crypt Wendtii and hornwort, since it is a low light tank. Also some stones from my backyard. (I boiled them for 3 hours, scrubbed them and did the vinegar test.) Aqua seemed much happier, and made a huge bubble nest! Months passed, and I added many more plants, driftwood, Amano shrimp, and Neon Tetras. (Aqua just ignores them, and they just avoid him. No fights or nipping in my tank!)

So, here are the specs:

Plants:
• 8 Giant Hygro Stems (Big Als)
• 12 Tropical Vals (Big Als)
• 2 Hornwort Bunches (Big Als)
• 2 Anubias Barteri (Big Als)
• 1 Anubias Barteri Nana (Big Als)
• 6 Crypt Wendtii (Big Als)
• 1 Tiger Lotus (Big Als)
• 1 Java fern (Big Als)

Fish:

• 1 Betta (Big Als)
• 8 Neon Tetras (Big Als)
• 5 Amano Shrimp (Big Als)

Equipment:
-20 Lb Eco-Complete
-2 10-Watt compact flourescents (makes 2 WPG)
-Heater (temp. 79˚F)