2-10gallons (lots of updates)56K! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-2009, 06:55 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
2-10gallons (lots of updates)56K!

This is my first time posting, so here's a little bit about me. I am a recent college graduate and currently in pursue of Vet School. I am volunteering at a animal hospital these days for some experience, which led to my first planted tank...How? Good thing about working at the vets is that you get a lot of free stuff, bird cages, pet carriers, puppies and even FISH TANKs. A generous lady recently dropped off 2 10g fish tanks at the hospital. Since I got the tanks, I began gathering the materials. I knew that I needed some ADA aqua soil, after hearing all the fantastic thing about it. When people in this forum says expensive...they mean expensive. After spending $50 dollar on these soil... I pretty much went out of money for other things. So I decided on some sponge filters and some 6500K light bulb from walmart since they are both relatively cheap...

After gathering all the materials, I knew that I want to try out both a rock scape and driftwood scape. Well...rock and wood cost a lot in the aquarium business too.... so with 2 pieces of driftwood and some rocks I was able to go home and try out the "hardscape" not sure if this is the right word. And it looked something like this:

The driftwood scape is pretty much the same with some driftwood on the right side and there's no slop in the soil.