40 Gallon Breeder (Advice needed) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
40 Gallon Breeder (Advice needed)

Hello everyone, I am relatively new to planted tanks. I have a 5 gallon low tech and a 2.5 gallon low tech. They have been doing well for a good while so i decided its time to go big. I bought a 40 gallon from petco (dollar per gallon sale) And began building my own custom tank stand.

Now for what im seeking in terms of advice.
I Currently plan to keep cardinal tetras, corycats, shrimp and im id like to add 1 more species in there but i havent decided on what yet, possibly rainbow fish.
In terms of plants i would like the ability to grow any and all plants that i may end up choosing in the future.
My budget is $500
Here are the categories i would like recommendations on.

Filter:
Co2 Setup:
Heater:
Lighting:
Any other accessories i may need:

Any and all help is extremely appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 04:43 PM
Algae Grower

Nice stand!
Here is a bit of info from want I learned on my 40 breeder.
On my 40 Breeder I have 2 ehiem ecco pros rated for 60 gal each. I don't think I need both but I like to have a lot of fish. I would probably switch to a single larger.
I'm happy with my CO2 reg. It was the cheapest I could find for a 5lb CO2 tank. The bubble counter it comes with is pretty crappy though. I pay more attention to my drop checker.
I have a Finnex planted plus and a Current USA Satellite Plus. I don't think either of them alone could run the tank. I would probably just do 1 Finnex to start and see how it goes from there. You can always get a second down the road.
You will need some added flow that you won't be used to in smaller tanks. I like my hydor Koralia
As for heaters I have no real preference. I'll probably get an inline one down the road.