5 Gallon Tetra Crescent Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-03-2015, 03:30 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
5 Gallon Tetra Crescent Planted Tank

Hello!
This is my first attempt to create a planted aquarium, and actually this is a second aquarium in my life. 20 years ago, when I was a boy, we had a fishbowl with some guppies, some vals growing in the sand and some elodea floating on top. It was self-contained, without any filtering, circulation or artificial light (lower than "low-tech", sort of "bottom-tech" ), but guppies were rather happy there, and were actually breeding quite intensively.
For the last several years I was thinking about having an aquarium, and now the time has come. Here's my Tetra Crescent 5gal, 1 week old, low-tech, kinda sorta planted

Plant have only started to grow in, you can see cotton threads I've used to tie Java moss to the piece of driftwood. I've decided not to disturb plants at least for a month, I'm going only to replant the anubias. Currently it has rhisome lying on the gravel, while its roots are pinned to the gravel with some clips, made from pipe-cleaners (basically an iron wire with a cotton shell). I'm going to trim its roots, trim one leaf and tie the rhisome to a stone.
Flora:
Java ferns
Java moss
Bolbitis
Anubias
Water Wisteria
Marimo Moss Balls
Fauna:
4 Gold White Clouds (John, Paul, George and Ringo)
About 6 MTS

Equipment:
Tetra Crescent 5g stock lighting (15 LEDs), 12h/12h cycle managed by Zilla 11573 mechanical timer
Azoo Mignon 60 HOB filter
Hydor 25W heater, set to 74 F