5g DSM shrimp tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
5g DSM shrimp tank

~ UPDATE 21 Dec. 2014 ~
No further issues with mold. HC is browning slightly. Glosso is doing well but I haven't been keeping up with trimming so it's gone up instead of over. A. reineckii has new leaves. All are rooting.

After a failed first attempt, I took the tank apart and am now trying a DSM. I hope to grow out a decent carpet of dwarf baby tears, though I'm still waiting on the HC to arrive. I'm fairly new to keeping a planted tank, so any and all advice is appreciated, especially in regards to DSM... and all of the questions I have down below

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1128 edit resized.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	509.8 KB
ID:	397610

Current plants:
-Rosette sword
-Dwarf sag
-Glosso
-Brazilian fern (runner from a huge one my mother has sitting around, it's fairly beat up but I tossed it in anyway)

Waiting on:
-HC
-Marsilea quadrifolia
-May add DHG as well if I find it at Petco.

Substrate is Eco-Complete with a bit of black sand on top and a total of 3 Flourish root tabs. Should I crumble them up or will they do a good enough job jusr sitting in there? I need to put more sand around the glosso.

Name:	DSC_1137 edit resized.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	464.8 KB
ID:	397618

I added a bit more water and there's finally some condensation now (16h after setup). The rosette sword and dwarf sag were looking a bit shriveled and brown on the edges, which concerned me. Someone suggested putting a bowl with a wet sponge in there, which I think I'll try since I've heard of people getting mold/fungus with stagnant pools of water.

Lighting is a 6500k 60W equivalent flourescent bulb in an 8" reflector sitting on the glass top (probably 8" from substrate) on a 14h photoperiod. Is that too much? I have a 40W equivalent I can switch it to.

Name:	DSC_1136 edit resized.jpg