newbie 29g planted need help if possible few pics! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-12-2014, 04:04 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
newbie 29g planted need help if possible few pics!

Total newb here! Forgive my trespasses

Tank up and running almost 2 months;
Weekly 10℅ h2o changes

Sand over gravel substrate

29G aquarium, tetra kit
Ex30 whisper HOB
Stock heater
2 bulb T5 HO 2x24w =48w total light, 6500k

Api co2 booster, mostly every day \a couple times a week
Flourish 1x week

Wisteria (looking rough; was a pet smart tube buy)
Anubias (suffered under almost no light for a while)
Java fern (big donated piece, was pretty moth eaten when I got it)
Dwarf hairgrass (starting to grow, was\is looking rough)
1 water onion (not doing well)
Cabomba(happy)
Amazon swords (still small)
Moss ball
Something long and leafy
2 unknown bulbs I was given that are growing put of control

Fish-

2 dwarf gourami
1 rainbow shark
1 emperor\dwarf pleco
1 Chinese hillstream loach
3 clam\mussel

I large piece of driftwood,leeching tanin. Filter has charcoal to help clarify water, changing on a 10 day schedule.

I'm very particular about dosing these supplements, labels are followed EXACTLY and dosed with a syringe to the precise amounts required and suggested intervals:

Supplemented substrate with root tabs about 1 week ago.
Api co2 booster
Flourish micronutrients supplent

Temp- steadily 76-79 degree F
Lights- were running 12 hr daily, algae took over shortly after the lights were upgraded,reduced to 8 h daily.

I could use a hand\advice. I'm trying to figure out the aquascape; open to suggestions, have some rocks holding down the driftwood until it will stay down on its own. I've included some pics of the plants.

How do I make this lush and overgrown? What plants should I add? Is there a better way to arrange everything?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20141111_235643.jpg