700 Gallon Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-05-2014, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
700 Gallon Tank

Hello All,

I work in the industry for a large and reputable retailer of all things aquariums. On top of the many display tanks and retail systems I take care of, I am responsible for a 700 gallon community aquarium. Though mostly just hardscaped for much of it's 8 year life, I have recently been moving it towards a planted tank. Here are some specs...

Display: 96" x 48" x 36" tall

Lighting: 2 x Ecoxotic 100w elliptical cannons (modified with 7000K chips)

Filtration: Sump system, dual wet-dry filters, 2 x 100 micron socks, 25w UV, about 10 pounds of purigen run passively

Livestock: Phew.... Just my guess
30 x Fully Grown Denison Barbs
100 x Congo Tetras
15 x Red Tapajos Eartheaters
10 x Cupid Cichlids
25 x Clown Loachs
50 x Harlequin Rasboras
Over a dozen plecos including Green Phantoms, Gold Nuggets, Galaxy, King Tiger, 3 x frog plecos, a medium sized panaque, and many more.
1 x Angelfish

The water chemistry is the following:

NO3: ~40ppm
Temp: 80 degrees
pH: ~7

Anyways.... in the tank itself, many of the plants are doing well but a lot of the java ferns and anubias have struggled to grow and seem to brown out and fade away. The fish are a little hard on the plants, but the tank is well fed. I feel like something is off.

Because of the open filtration, the tank does not run compressed CO2, I do typically add ~70mL of Brightwell Florinaxis. I used to add Seachem Excel and it worked better, but the recently added 4' tall Jungle Vallisneria Gigantea does not tolerate it.

Any ideas? Reef tanks are my specialty, and though I know my way around a basic planted tank, this has me stumped.

Here are some pictures, some people on this board may have seen this tank in person if they live in Socal...

Bit of a glare, but you can see the livestock well...