Talontsiawd's 29 gallon Newbie tank :) Update 2/26/2010...Slowly bouncing back - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 151 (permalink) Old 10-22-2008, 04:44 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Talontsiawd's 29 gallon Newbie tank :) Update 2/26/2010...Slowly bouncing back

Newest Pictures:

Current equipment list:
-Aqueon 29 gallon tank
-Top Fin Stand
-Aqueon Heater
-Eheim 2215 filter
-Coarlife T5 36 watt light x3 (108 watts total)
-20lb Co2 Tank
-Regulator and needle valve from a weed growing setup given to me lol
-GLA 3000 Glass Diffusor
-CAL AQUA "Oracle" Drop Checker

Start of journal
I figured i'd throw my tank up to get some advice, feedback, etc. I am very new to this, as described below. I will update these lists as i go, and of course take pictures of my progress.

Tank and Accessories
Aqueon starter kit:
-29 gallon tank
-Filter
-Heater
-17 Watt Light

Upgrades:
-Coralife 30in t5 2x18 light
-Diy CO2
-Green Leaf Aquariums CO2 Diffuser 3000

Fish/Shrimp
-Red Eye Tetra x2
-Flame Tetra x3
-Serpae Tetra x5
-Otto x3
-Dwarf Gourami x1
-Amano Shrimp x3
-Ghost Shrimp x3

Substrate:
Red Florite-18lbs
Black Gravel-15lbs

Background
None. This is my first tank. I have never had any sort of aquarium before. Everything I have learned has been in the last month, the tank was started on 10/11/08.

Goals
Immediate-To learn how to take care of fish, get more fish after first cycle, acquire new plants and hardscape
Midrange-Learn more about aquascaping and find the direction i want to go. Be able to visualize what i want and how it works. Learn more about aquascaping in terms of theory, technique, style, materials, etc
Long Term-Tear down this tank and redo with aquired knowledge