My 40G Breeder - It's about to get serious - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 11:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
My 40G Breeder - It's about to get serious

I'm fairly new to the hobby, having just started towards the beginning of this year. My first tank was a 29g, and I quickly decided it was too small, so I found a good deal on a 55g. After getting more into planting, I decided I didn't like the long, skinny and tall shape of the 55 so I wound up with this tank.

I've had it for a couple months now, and I am exceedingly happy with the footprint it affords for aquascaping. Also, it provides enough room to have a decent selection of fish inhabiting it without taking up a great deal of space like the 55 did.

Here are the specs I have been working with:

- 40 gallon Aqeuon tank
- Coralife 1x96w 6500k PC light
- Eheim 2217 canister filter
- 80lbs of Eco-Complete with a little original Fluorite that accidentally got mixed in
- 150w Jaeger heater
- DIY CO2 diffused through the Hagen Mini-Elite internal filter/pump

I have been growing the plants shown in the tank with decent success, but I don't think I am providing optimal conditions. I have a problem with some BBA on the plants on the left side with the fat round leaves (don't know what they are called) and it's also on the left driftwood. Don't know why my SAE's aren't touching it, they have eradicated most of my other algae. I also have hair algae and some sort of filamentous algae that is growing in a blob within my moss. My plants are growing pretty slowly. I haven't really needed to trim any of my stems. I could do a trim to the rotala to make them look nice, but I figured I would let them grow out so I could do their trim after I re-scape the tank.