75 gallon journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-14-2008, 04:29 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (8/100%)
75 gallon journal

Well...this is my first journal I've done for my second tank. I just got this tank earlier this week and after a whole lot of shopping and manual labor, I finally have it set up (bare min). I am still new to this so I am going to take this slow as it progresses. I am not going to put any plants/fish/etc (unless I should) until the tank settles down.

Basic info:
-75 gallon
-eheim 2217 (debating on 2nd filter)
-Will have CO2 with rex reactor (need to move it from 20 gallon and somehow attach a 1/2'' hose to a 5/8'' hose barb)
-Tek HO T5 48" (have 2 giesmann midday and waiting for 2 aquamedic planta bubls)
-DIY light stand
-SMS with peat moss and laterite underneath

Bare tank with stand

SMS (2 bags for 40 bucks and 150 mile drive), Shultlz peat moss and API laterite

DIY light stand (conduit plastic pipes spray painted black (crappy job too) and bolted to stand (price: under 15 bucks) Also have sunrise sunlifts light hanging system that works beautifully (25 bucks)

Washing SMS: It looked like river water for 2 hours...as a result, I washed it for a long time and flooded my neighbor's yard in the process (hehe)

Added peat moss

Added almost 2/3 bag of (55oz) laterite

Added wet and heavy SMS to tank (talk about labor intensive) I'm not sure if I have the right depths since I measure about 2 1/2 in in the front (from the middle of the bracket to the top) and close to 4in in the back. If I have to add more SMS, please let me know. I also did a crappy job evening out the substrate but I'll fix that later...

Adding water...

1 1/2 hours later...

Complete and filter working...BTW, those eheims are so easy to work..I thought I was going to have trouble but surprisingly, I didn't.