Planted 55G Low Tech to High Tech Evolution - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-23-2014, 12:32 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Planted 55G Low Tech to High Tech Evolution

I recently bought a 55 gallon tank for pretty cheap. It has been a while since I've had a planted tank, so I decided this would be a fun project. I built my own stand out of oak and walnut, which I just finished a few weeks ago. I've setup the tank, cycled it (using donor filter media from my other tanks) and put everything in order to start planting. Right now I pretty much have a blank canvas, with just a couple of decorations and some driftwood. I plan to set this up initially as a low tank tank, and move closer to high tech with a few DIY projects. I am an electrical engineer, so a lot of what I have planned requires the use of a Raspberry Pi computer, and creating circuit boards to control various aspects of the tanks. I'll be dosing ferts and Flourish Excel in the mean time.

Current setup:
Buildmyled 48" Dutch Planted Light
Fluval 406 Canister Filter
Hydor 300W inline heater
Eco-complete substrate

Projects:
-Plant the thing...
-Configure Raspberry Pi computer to control light dimming and simulate sun cycle
-Configure Raspberry Pi to control three peristaltic pumps to auto-dose ferts
-Purchase/setup pressurized CO2 system
-Configure Raspberry Pi to control CO2 timer and monitor pH

Planned Stocking (Plants):
Amazon Sword
Dwarf Hairgrass
Dwarf Baby Tears
Java Moss
Anubis Barteri
Banana Plant
Moss Balls
Cabomba Purple

Planned Stocking (Fish):
6x Yoyo Loaches
10x Cardinal Tetra
Some TBD "show" fish

My plants should be here Thursday, so I'll have some updates then. Please let me know what you think. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower