First planted tank setup: The Lair (Beware 56K) [Update 13Dec07] - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-28-2007, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
First planted tank setup: The Lair (Beware 56K) [Update 13Dec07]

Scroll down for new pics!

This is my first attempt at a planted tank. I have some hair grass, blxya(?), amazon swords and some stem plants of which I don't know the name. My only hardscape is a small log for my catfish. The catfish likes to burrow the log out of the SMS to where it sits on the glass bottom. The SMS it spits out on top of the log and around the aquarium, usually on my plants. My setup is hard to work on because the catfish attacks my arm if I try to scape. She doesn't dig up the plants unless they are close to the log.

Cliff notes: I could really use some tips.

Equipment:
55gal AGA
Pressurized CO2 with PVC reactor
Filstar XP3
Coralife Moonlight 2x65w with 6700k freshwater bulbs
SMS

Inhabitants:
Electric catfish
Lots of snails

The fish eating a cricket:

Front right:

Front left:

Side left:

Last edited by krylon; 12-14-2007 at 04:00 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-28-2007, 11:47 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (42/100%)
I have a cave shaped piece of wood and a pleco that did the same thing. I attached a flat piece of slate to the bottom of the wood and the issue stopped. Otherwise, sounds like maybe you need to trade in the crazy catfish, lol.

Nice tank. Seems like you got more than the usual red chips of SMS.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 12:38 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (21/100%)
Looks very nice. And green.
I believe the stem plants you have are hygrophilia sp.
It sucks that the catfish digs, he looks cool.