Dual 6.5g Mr. Aquas: Semi-Dutch & Iwagumi [56k] (2.5 Month Update!) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-31-2013, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
Dual 6.5g Mr. Aquas: Semi-Dutch & Iwagumi [56k] (2.5 Month Update!)

These tanks are my first co2 injected builds. I'm a starving student so I went with the DIY method. My plan is one 2-liter bottle reactor for each tank.

Big thanks to user 'rocksmom' for basically giving away half of the equipment and plants I'm using for this project.

Specs:

Tank 1 Semi-Dutch
6.5g Mr Aqua
Aquaclear 20 with Sponge, bioballs, ceramic, seeded bag of lavarock
'Hidoli' 9.4w 24" LEDs that came with the tank, plus a small 9w strip of LEDs zip-tied to it.
DIY co2 with up-aqua diffusor
Fluval 'Plant' and 'Shrimp' stratum
-Stauro
-HC
-Rotala
-Crypt Parva
-Myriophyllum mattogrossense
-Xmas moss
-Duckweed
-Hygro Compacta
-Red Plant needs identifying
-Slowly adding UG clippings from the other tank

Tank 2 Iwagumi
Currently in Dry-start Filled!
6.5g Mr Aqua
Aquaclear 20
Finnex Fugeray 24"
Pressurized co2 built from oxygen welding regulator
Fluval 'Plant' and 'Shrimp' Stratum
Rocks of unknown type - probably man made decorative (pagoda stone?)
-HC
-UG

Here's a [terrible quality] shot of the bookshelf to demonstrate my plan:

From bottom to top:
The 10gal low-tech that was my first tank. Going to tear it down and divide the inhabitants into the dual Mr Aquas.
The Recently filled Semi-Dutch undergoing a diatom explosion. This is my girlfriend's tank officially, but obviously what's hers is mine ;]
The Iwagumi, in dry start mode to grow out the HC foreground and UG background.

When both tanks are filled and cycled, the 10g will be given away and the two Mr Aquas will be moved down one shelf to look nice and tidy and also to make me look less insane ;]

Last edited by flippydoo; 03-16-2014 at 09:07 PM. Reason: title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement