Upgraded fluval spec V - first high tech tank, watch me make mistakes! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 66 (permalink) Old 12-28-2013, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Upgraded fluval spec V - first high tech tank, watch me make mistakes!

Hi everyone! Like it says, this is my first time with a high tech planted tank. I decided on the fluval spec v as it's a pretty cheap deal for an attractive little tank. My intention is for this tank to be a learning experience, in preparation for a larger display tank. I'm planning on planting an Iwagumi style tank. I grow a lot of bonsai and have been painting a lot of Bierstadt studies, so that's clearly the right idea - bonsai mountain range.

Looking for some inspiration, I'm drawn to these tanks:

Now, my first thought was 'what makes these work?' First thing I see is lots of different, lush grasses. There's a wealth of color shades and textures that add to the design, creating a symbolic depth. The moss can be read as grasses, the larger stem plants as trees or even continuations of the cliff. Rocks are exposed promontories or cliff faces.

It's a first tank though, so maybe I need to scale back my ambition.

Perfect! Four types of plants! Let's do that!

First thing to do was purchase an upgrade to the light and a heater. Fluval aqua life and plant multi spectrum LED seems to be just what the doctor ordered. Hope I'm not wrong on this count!

This is where I am now. I've ordered some rocks from online, in my opinion they have the character necessary to carry the composition of the tank, while also being cheaper than say unzan stone. Someday… someday…