post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Spec V - Rescape to High Tech

Update: Rescape in November of 2016:

Update: Rescape on 12/6/14:

[IMG]14-002-0921.jpg by Nate Griffin, on Flickr[/IMG]

Hi everyone,

I've been dreaming of starting in the hobby for several years - doing an embarrassing amount of research. First wanted saltwater, but quickly decided that would be entirely to complex and expensive.

Decided on freshwater planted and had great things planned with CO2 high tech and the whole ball of wax. However, space and finances won't allow that so I've decided to dip a toe into the hobby with a Spec V. It's actually a Christmas gift for one of my kids. He asked for a fish tank - honest!

Bought some great sticks from Tom Barr and this is what I came up with.

Thinking of the following plants:
Bacopa Carolina
cryptocoryne parva
anubias barteri var nana
marsilea hirsuta
anubias nana petite

I'm using the stock light and flourite. I'm worried about the cryptocoryne parva as it seems to want higher light. Any thoughts on if this will work?

I have some thoughts on the animals but am scared to share. I'm sure many will scream "overstocked! A Spec is no place for fish!!"

Thanks for any help and input!

Last edited by natiedean24; 12-21-2016 at 09:45 PM. Reason: update
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 05:05 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
I find it funny here i am looking at getting in to this and am finding it more difficult then my mixed reef tank!
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Here it is in place. Put the flourite in and started the fishless cycle right before we left town for Christmas.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 05:21 PM
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topekoms View Post
I find it funny here i am looking at getting in to this and am finding it more difficult then my mixed reef tank!