My First Attempt at a Professional-Looking Aquascape - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 04:57 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My First Attempt at a Professional-Looking Aquascape

Hi everyone, I got a Mr. Aqua 12 gallon long for Christmas and I am excited to attempt an iwagumi aquascape. The specs are as follows:

36" Finnex Fugeray Planted Plus
eBay glass inlet and outlet pipes
Eheim 2215 filter with inline heater
1 9L bag of Aqua Soil Amazonia
1 3L bag of Aqua Soil Amazonia powder
Seiryu Rock
HC
Dwarf Hairgrass?
Cardinal Tetras or chili rasboras
amano shrimp?

This is my first attempt at an aquascape. I'm sorta trying to recreate the rocky hills of the Scottish highlands. Tell me what you think.

Last edited by thayes427; 01-03-2014 at 03:43 PM. Reason: I don't like my title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 06:27 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (40/100%)
Hardscape looks good! The tricky part is going to be choosing the right plants and arranging them appropriately. For plants, have you thought about utricularia gramnifolia? UG might be a better choice to emulate the Scottish highlands.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 07:16 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Nice , I will go with UG toooo nice scape . Keep in mind that hill will decrease in 6 month sooo . Good luck with the new set up

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-27-2013, 03:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

thanks for the replies. I am wondering, why would you choose UG? I feel like it would grow too tall and cover up the hardscape. I changed the right side of the hardscape and I think it might be complete.
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-27-2013, 05:15 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (17/100%)