Anubias dying - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Anubias dying

Hi I am a newbie when it comes to plants in tanks,

Hope someone can help me out!

I have recently set up a discus tank and bought 5 Anubias plants. Bought Anubias as they told me they are hardy plants and need low light, no fertz etc...

A few I have tied a few to driftwood, others tied to rocks. In order to do this I had to trim the roots.

After a few weeks all my Anubia plants (barteri round leaf and Congensis) started to die. Congensis started to turn black and leaves fell off, Barteri plants started to disintegrate and leaves started to get loose.

I was very upset by this and cannot understand how this happened. The only plant that seems to still be ok is the Barteri Nana. This is the only plant that i did not need to trim off the roots. Can this be the reason?

My temp in the tank is 29 degrees C, Ph approx 7 and have two 50 cms T5 11 watts tubes. Tank is approx 400 liters.

I would like to remove dying plants and start again. Any ideas what might have gone wrong?

Thanks
SGB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20131123_142245.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	241713  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 10:17 AM
Planted Member

Did you put any fertz? Its look like nutrient defiency and/or near strong source of light.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 12:38 PM
Algae Grower

Anubias dying