Oh what web we weave...... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-30-2007, 11:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Oh what web we weave......

On March 24 I posted these over at another site I hope its ok if not I will remove.....

http://www.cichlid-forum.com/phpBB/v...f2cb08cbbae6d0

I have been keeping Cichlids for roughly 4 years. I have tried planting but at most one apon would live a few months then wither away. 2 weeks before the post I lost my best Fish Friend Big Red. He was a parrot cichlid that has been with me since the start.

SOB STORY WARNING= He had been through some tough times the worst being 3 years ago when I got married in Mexico and I was having trouble getting my wifes visa. We spent 3 months in Mexico and my buddy was looking after the tank. Stopping by my house once every 2 weeks. Needless to say my Automatic feeder broke while I was gone, and my buddy thought the water seemed to cold so he turned the lights on. When I got home the lights where still on and the tank was covered with 1/4" algae all around. Luckily my parrot loves algae. Here is a pic of the old guy....

After his death I was really bummed. He was harassed by 2 other parrots that where younger then Big Red but had surpassed him in size with time. I knew Red loved plants so I decided to do a planted tank in his memory.

First was the advice I got from the folks and specially macclellan . I was hoping to do a simple planted tank and keep the fish I had but as time went on my Cichlids specially the 2 killers got on my nerves. Pic of the tank before remodel....

Cichlids enjoying the new caves....

At first I thought simple. I buy Co2 and stick the plants in. So I did just that.