My First Attempt at a Planted Tank !! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 05:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (1/100%)
My First Attempt at a Planted Tank !!

Hey all,

This is my first attempt at a planted tank so be easy on me ! haha. I will be adding ground cover and some mid-sized plants in the middle but for now this is what i created. Bogwood on the left and some slate cliffs on the right. Any advice would be appreciated !

James

PS...excuse the bag of gravel in the middle...substrate from my last setup to help the nitrogen cycle get started.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 08:53 AM

PTrader: (0/0%)
Very nice indeed!
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 10:50 AM

Not bad

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 03:24 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (208/100%)
If that bubble ladder is being used for CO2, you want to reduce the surface being broken by that HOB filter to prevent CO2 outgassing.

is that a tiger lotus? The leaves get 12+ inches. I am starting to think this plant might be too big for my 75g. Just thought you should know.

nice start!
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 05:22 PM Thread Starter

Thanx everyone.

Mac, once i stop the daily water changes for start up i will have the water level right up to the lip of the filter to minimize surface turbulence. Will this work or would it be worth the money for me to go to an external cannister ?

Yes it is a tiger lotus. I have a glass top on the tank. Will that prevent the lotus from growing too high ? If not then could i prune the plant in a safe way whenever one of the leaves reaches the surface ?

Thanks for any help !

James
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 06:41 PM

PTrader: (8/100%)