JGs 20G long - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 282 (permalink) Old 03-20-2007, 02:48 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (114/100%)
JGs 20G long

Hello there folks. Its quite intimidating to post here... so many stunning tanks and such a wealth of knowledge on these forums. I've been lurking around for months reading and soaking up as much as my brain can handle. Trying to learn as much as possible about properly setting up and maintaining a planted tank. Still such a newb as I know lots of lessons only come from experience.

Now i've managed to get clearance to set up a little higher tech tank in the bedroom. This is my first attempt in doing so it should be interesting at the very least. I'd been posting in a journal over at MFT for the 10g hex but figured it would be better to start a journal for the new tank here given the content.

So now that thats out of the way here we go... man I swear the color on the walls do not look this bad in person, stupid flash. :P

The new setup:

20 Gallon long and a stand to match our bedroom furniture. The humidifier will be going away for summertime soon.

inside:

Will house the XP1, Heater, and eventually CO2 system in here.

quarantine/breeder 2.5G:

Tank is using all of the remnants from the 10G hex kit. 8W 18K Aquaglo flourescent, Top fin 10 filter, All glass aquarium heater.

So for the 20G long i've ordered/got:
Rena XP1/ extra bio-stars
Current USA Satellite 1x65W + 50/50 dual daylight lamp
Hydor 201 200W heater
ADA aquasoil amazonia 12 liters
Coralife digital timer(s)

Anything I'm forgetting?