Is low tech possible on a 120 gallon? which is the least maintenence - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-20-2006, 11:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is low tech possible on a 120 gallon? which is the least maintenence

sorry for the dumb question but I'm new to planted aquariums.

Is it possible to have a planted tank as big as 120 gallons (60L 18.5W 25.5T) without any CO2?

From my understanding, without CO2 I will need less lighting (which is also cheaper for me).

My priority is ease of maintenence over price. I would rather spend more money, if needs be, to have a tank that is easier to maintain. I am in my senior year of my engineering program at school and time is limited, I like tinkering with this stuff, but it cannot become something that needs daily or weekly attention. I used to do water changes on my 40 gallon tank every two weeks and thats as much as I would like to do.

I would like to keep a few fish in the tank, probably a large school of tetras and a few bigger fish, along with some shrimp to aid with cleaning.

If low tech is less maintenence (less pruning due to slow growth) then I would rather go that route, especially since it'll be cheaper?

Without CO2 will I have to mess around a lot with adding fertilizers and supplements to the water? cause that also takes quite a bit more attention, In which case Id rather just go CO2 with a ph controller and cough up the money to have less work.

so what do you guys recommend in my situation? low tech or co2 injected?

also I understand low tech limits what plants I can grow, does anyone have list of nice looking plants that will work if i go low tech? that way i can look at pictures and decide if I even like them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-20-2006, 11:20 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (11/100%)
I would go low tech, water changes on a 120g is less than apealing to me .
Quote: