Hi Everyone from the Uk. My new 240L Tank Journal :-) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 11:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi Everyone from the Uk. My new 240L Tank Journal :-)

Hi Everyone

I'm new to this and just bought myself a fish tank, although i have kept Puffers before, this is my first go at creating a "planted Tank" (Juwel 240L)

So far it's at an early stage, useing Aquagro NutraSoil Substrate, xmas moss glued to slate,

More to follow, and any advice would be greatfull on design style and type of plants?.

Im planning on having lots of south american fish from amazon puffers and dwarf cichlids.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 11:30 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (26/100%)
So in suitable plant types in a list:
Anubias- Attach very nicely to driftwood and rocks. Big and leafy, quite hardy.
Echinodorus- Sword plants. Many many different types, and colors to choose from. Great for background.
Cryptocorynes- Slower growers: C. Spiralis, C. Ballansae, C. Wendtii. Great background/midground plants. Many different types are available. Check my thread in my signature for more varieties.
You have many different options for smaller foreground plants. One of my favorites in larger tanks is Echinodorus Tenellus. I think it would look really natural with south american fishes.

what vision do you have for how you want the tank to look in the long run? do you plan on adding any additional rocks or driftwood??

Good luck!
Joshua

Piano
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 08:42 AM Thread Starter

For the foreground i was thinking Sagittaria subulata, Lilaeopsis brasiliensis, Echinodorus tenellus, Bacopa australis.