Aquadise's 29 gallon Journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-23-2006, 04:49 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (21/96%)
Aquadise's 29 gallon Journal

Hello Everyone, this is my first aquascaping journal, so please don't be too harsh.

This journal all started with Petco $1 a gallon sale! With all the recent uproar about the sale, I decided to join in the fun and bought myself a 29 gallon, cost me about $34 tax, but it was sure worth it.

How could this day get any better?! Lesco finally got in an order in of Soilmaster Charcoal. Probally because I have been bugging them for so many months now and they finally order me a pallet.

Beautiful...

Added some peat...1/2" thick

Added some of my special fertilizer mix...

Soilmaster was added, about 3"-4" thick. Never rinse.

Finally, driftwood and water was added. Stone is there to hold the wood down.

Plants will be going in tommorow, its late and time for bed.

Next morning:

Alright, I dug up some plants from various tanks and the planting frenzy begins!

Cyperus helferi

Ludwigia Inclinata var. 'Cuba'

Various tonina and eriocaulon was later added. Half dead from my rock hard water. This tank is safe though, it is 100% rain water. readings are about 0 kgh, ph 7.

Polygonum sp 'Kawa...'

Added Ammania sp 'Bonsai' (Rotala indica), Blyxa, and HC. Also a powerhead sponge as a filter/co2 diffuser. Everything is done for today, and I now play the waiting game, atleast till the water clear!

The next day:
Water cleared up! I can't wait till the plants grows in. Now I just wait till the algae comes knocking.

Last edited by Aquadise; 08-24-2006 at 04:33 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-23-2006, 04:59 AM
Banned

PTrader: (24/100%)
What are you going to filter it with, have you decided?

Looking good so far..

Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-23-2006, 05:06 AM