Accident's 125 Journal (lots o pix) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Accident's 125 Journal (lots o pix)

I've really been enjoying this site and have gotten lots of good advice and tons of plants already, so, I thought I would share the results with everyone. I have been around aquariums my whole life and have kept just about everything. I had a planted tank years ago and have just recently rediscovered it. I purchased a 125 just for this purpose right before Christmas 2005. I had been buying plants for my 58 oceanic for about 3 months locally and 1 online order from Aquariumplants.com and another order from Dr's Foster and Smith. All arrived in good condition and have been thriving. I started the 125 w/2 65watt Fluorex lights that I had used in the 130 cichlid tank. I transplanted some plants from the 58 into 1/2 the 125 and added the plants from the Dr's F & S order.

Oh, yea, its got 8 bags of Flourite red in the bottom (UNWASHED:big mistake!)
The left 1/2 of the tank remained empty for weeks while I researched and finally decided on a Coralife 2x96watt 6700 Freshwater light. I added some Oto's and some drab brand rainbowfish in the meantime. Also some Malaysian snails and orange ramshorn.

Here it is w/the left side planted and the Coralife on. I was able to load it up with that $10 purchase of plants from Snake. Deal of the century and came at just the right time.
1/2/2006

1/11/2006

Notice the Flourite cloud?
Still waiting on some type of foreground plant.
I cant seem to get the lighting right in the frame, tank is so long.

Thanx for looking
Accident

130 Gal Acrylic cichlid,125 Oceanic planted, 58 Oceanic planted/cichlid. 500 timbers holding pond, 180 GF pond, 60 horse trough grow out tank. Front porch garden pond (130 overflow), Whiskey barrel water garden, Puddles when it rains.