My 52 Gallon project - 56K warning - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 11:08 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My 52 Gallon project - 56K warning

Hi

I've had my 52 Gallon project running for a few weeks now. I'm aiming for a setup that is moderate growth / maintenance with some fairly easy to grow plants to begin with. It's my first attempt at a properly planted tank and looks like this:

The rock formation / cave was made out of slate chippings from the DIY shop and slate tiles as a base and the cave roof.. It's amazing what can be achieved with aquarium silicon sealant, a big hammer and a lot of patience

I've gone for fairly easy to grow plants to begin with in Valisineria, Anubias, E Tenellus and Hair grass (sadly some of the more interesting plants I had planned were rotten before I got them from the LFS).

Lighting is from 4 * 30W bulbs
DIY CO2 (2 litre bottle with Champagne yeast / yeast nutrient / sugar / water, planning on adding a second bottle)
Eheim 2224 & 2213
2 * 150 Watt heaters
JBL CO2 reactor (modular, so I've connected two units together to get best CO2 dispersal)
UV steriliser
Air stone connected to air pump which automatically comes on when the lights are out.
JBL heater cable

Fish: 10 Silver Hatchets, 9 Pentazona Barbs, 4 Syn. Petricola, 4 Guppies, A pair of Aphymosium Australe.

Cheers

Karl.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 11:31 AM

PTrader: (28/100%)
Very cool cave, i love it! What did you use for substrate?
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 11:49 AM Thread Starter

The substrate is a layer of small (3 to 4mm) pea gravel surrounding a JBL substrate cable heater, then Aquaclay on top mixed with JBL Florapol (see http://www.aquaclay.de/engl/index.htm ) and then a final layer of pea gravel, because quite a bit of the aquaclay floated, inspite of the manufacturers claims