Another 46g Bowfront - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-28-2005, 04:58 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Another 46g Bowfront

I'm fairly new to planted tanks but I've had a long-time goal of setting up a large 150-200 gal tank for my living room. I'm experimenting with this tank at the moment to figure out what kinds of plants & arangements I like for the upcoming bigger project.

It turns out it was a VERY good idea to gain experience on something smaller. I've been around & around with about every type of algae I've seen described. I think I'm gradually getting the hang of it, but it's taken a lot of trial & error and a lot of web surfing.

I know this tank is full of too many things. I'm planning on much larger groupings and many fewer plant species in the future. I think there are over 30 plant species in the thing right now. But still, even at that, the overall effect is much nicer than anything non-planted.

Details:
Eheim ecco canister filter
pressurized CO2 injected into filter intake currently at 150 bpm
DIY light hood with 8x23 spiral compact fluorescents (5500K) & cooling fan
flourite substrate
KH 4.5, pH average 6.50
EI dosing method with Flourish for TE's

It's interesting to me to go back and see how things have grown in and how different arrangements have looked. I definately like bowfronts since you get a natural large foreground area to work with. They are much harder to photograph well however.

I'm currently in the middle of a green dust algae bloom, but my previous BBA seems to be clearing after much effort, trimming, and a 2 week shot of Excel.

Take a look, any comments are welcomed.

This is Dec 24, 2005:

This is Nov 29, 2005:

This is a view of too many fish. But like I said, I'm experimenting.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 01:11 PM