55gal planted tank try! (56k warning) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 11-27-2005, 06:13 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (12/100%)
55gal planted tank try! (56k warning)

Hello Everyone!,

I have been reading this forum for quite a while, and have had planted auqaruims before, but this is my first try with compressed Co2, mid to high lighting, and Florite substrate. To start off with this was a plan to settup a Oceanic 110 show(48"x18"x30")that I had gotten for a steel, but with a very bad back I couldn't SAFELY work on it so I had to sell it! SUX A BIG ONE! So I got a new 55gal tank and stand, and set it up with a Fluval 204, a deep substrate of Florite, Otto computherm 200 watt heater, and filled to with R/O water. The 204 was off another tank so it allready has Bact. growing on the boi rings. The fish are from the 110 and are 3 Terq. Rainbows, 3 Red Rainbows, 3 German rams, 2 Oto cats, 1 Bristle nose plec, 4 Silver Hatchets, 3 Cherrie Barbs(for hair alge control), and 2 Albino Cory Cats. I have a 5lb Co2 tank with dual Regulator from BeverageBarn. For now I have a shop light with Life Glow2 bulbs, and 2 55watt PC retro kit that I installed in the light hoods that came with the tank. I also have a Tetra 18watt UV ster. that is from a pond settup, but hey it still works!! LOL The plants I am starting this tank up with are Corkscrew Vals and a couple of bairly alive amazon swords left from the 110, and a little Java fern from a another tank,also got some Red Lug from LFS.