My first high tech 120G - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My first high tech 120G

Hey everyone- I've been keeping fish for approximately 15 years, started with fresh water, moved on to salt water and reefs, moved back to freshwater planted... and after getting tired of my low tech set-up I decided to revamp my 120 gallon planted discus tank.

A recent picture of one of my Blue Scorpions:

The display tank is a 120 gallon oceanic tech tank. It has a starfire "low iron" glass front viewing panel, beveled and polished tank edges, eurobracing, a built in 4 hole overflow box, and a black background. At the time I bought the tank it was intended to be a saltwater coral reef tank. I had been toying around with the idea of having a tank custom built for me to the exact specifications that I desired, but ended up getting a much better deal on the Oceanic Tech series than I would have on a custom build (estimates in the $1,800-2,200 range) for what I wanted.

After not really ever getting started with the reef tank, I decided that I wanted to change direction and make it a planted discus aquarium. I had kept discus before, and really enjoyed them... and now that I had a nice 120 gallon aquarium I could create a planted display.

I used the light that I already had from the saltwater hobby, an ATI 6x54w T5 sunpower:

Initially it was run with 2 bulbs on my low-tech tank, now it runs with 4 out of a possible 6 bulbs on my high-tech tank: