Sushistix's 55 Gallon (56k warning) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 02:27 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (1/100%)
Sushistix's 55 Gallon (56k warning)

Hello everyone I recently changed my 55 gallon to accomodate my plants better. This is a pic of the tank before. I found that argonite does not help plant growth.

Here are some after pics after the changeover. Sorry about the quality I just got the camera last night and I'm new to digital, just need some more practice. Under the tank is a refugium I set-up about a month prior to the change so that when I changed the argonite to eco-complete I would still have bacteria in the fuge. All the fish and plants made the transition well and now the fuge adds more filtrationand is like a nano. There are fancy guppys, ghost, and bamboo shrimp in the fuge. The tank has been the new way for two weeks now and I just started having algea probs as you can see. Last night I added some oto's and they're working as we speak. Thanks for checking out my tank and I look forward to feedback.

The left side

The right side

The refugium

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 03:39 PM
eds

PTrader: (8/100%)
I like!
Of course, I'm a sucker for any tank with rams and rainbows!
What are your specs: light/CO2/ferts?
And when you get a chance, a plant list might complement your - um - nascent photo skills!
I like the wood placement, with the long angled piece over your rocks and the gnarly stump on the right. Is that piece on the right natural? Funky!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 06:05 PM Thread Starter

My plants:
Dwarf Hairgrass
Amazon Swords (planted on the left side along the back and side yet to grow high enough to see)
Anubias Nana
Anubias Frazeri
Crypt"Brown"
Hygro
Red Ludwigia
Moneywort
Java Moss
In the refugium:
Anubias Nana
Java Moss
Amazon Sword

My Fish:
Blue Rams
Bolivian Rams
Rainbows
Rosy Barbs
Rummy Nose Tetras