My first aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 02:27 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My first aquarium

Hi everyone,

Thanks to those of you who answered my questions in the other forums. Things have finally settled down enough to formally present my tank (problems and all). It took a year of dreams, but I finally set up my first tank almost three weeks ago. The first picture was taken the day after I put the fish in.

My only plan was to try a variety of plants, and attempt aquascaping later. I had originally wanted to do an Amazon biotope (I used to live there and miss it a lot!) but it was too limiting given the plants available at the lfs. As a newbie, I chose ease of startup over authenticity. My fish are S. American, and the plants are mostly American (I stuck the Rotala in on a whim). I hope to do an Amazon biotope with angles, hatchets, knifefish, and others in a larger tank once I get the hang of things.

My tank has had some adventures in the last three weeks:
1) Diatoms (briefly, until algae took over)
2) Slight ammonia readings for two days, and the algae started
3) No more ammonia, but slight nitrites for two days
4) No more nitrites, but one week after purchase one glowlight tetra got sick (white fuzzy eye) and died within 12 hours, possibly Columnaris. I noticed one other fish with a bite-sized piece of fin missing, whitish edge, but fin has since grown back in.
5) When the glowlight first got sick, I added 2 Tbs. aquarium salt to aquarium, but the algae went bezerk. I changed water to get rid of salt over a couple days, "weeded" out the algae, added more plants (Cabomba, Egeria, Hornwort) and the Hagen natural CO2.
6) Algae continues to thrive (mostly green hair) so today I bought 4 Ottos and 4 ghost shrimp, and ordered ferts (from Gregg Watson) and phosphate and nitrate tests. Maybe low CO2 is allowing the algae, but ferts will help me figure that out.