Loach/Planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Loach/Planted tank

well I am new to planted tanks so after a bit of research I am giving it a go.
Link to pictures-- http://photobucket.com/albums/y88/ne...=tanksmall.jpg
The tank is a 40 gallon low (breeder?) with a HOB filter that has the intake for it on the other end of the tank. You can see the sponge for it on the lower left side. Hopefully the Java fern will block it from view soon.
My other filter is a fluval 204 that also has the intake on the left side. So the flow to the tank is a half way strong right to left flow. With river sand covering the bottom the "junk" stays ontop of the sand and flows towards the left. It makes the tank easier to clean. The whole flow from one side to the other is kinda like a river tank but without the super fast flow.
I do have a black background for it but I just moved so one step at a time;-)
I used local river sand and mixed a bit of terralit in with it when putting in the plants.
The rocks from Lake Superior are to match my Botia kubotai's.

Fish are--3 kubotai (polka dot loaches), 4 Botia striata (zebra loaches), 1 Dario loach, 1 SAE and 4 hatchet fish.
Plants are--java fern, dwarf sag, java moss, thick val (not doing so well) and thinner val (doing super), various Anubias, various crypts.

Light at 2.5 watt and just started the store bought CO2. I don't dose too often as I want a low labour tank but I do use both Leaf Zone and Plant Gro.
I really like how the right side is higher than the middle and am thinking of doing that to the left too and having the dwarf sag in the lower middle. I will move the left rock structure over alittle more to the left to block the sponge. I am also going to put some java fern on the drift wood when I get the time.