How low-tech can we get? Re-do journal (56K) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 06:12 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
Red face How low-tech can we get? Re-do journal (56K)

My boyfriend and I are two young, restless college kids. Naturally, between work and not much else, we get very bored! We're betta fish keepers and are somewhat new to planted tanks, and now we're trying our hands at co2 and shrimp. This tank is cheap, ugly, and just about all hand-me-downs!

Thanks for looking. If you have comments please let me know, I need all the help I can get. And please, be gentle! I'm new to co2 and shrimp but I'm researching- steady as she goes!

Recent Re-Do:
7/24/12:

FTS before redo:
6/21/12:
Click image for larger version

Name:	575151_2905969388061_483506168_n.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	103.4 KB
ID:	49555

Tank start date: 6/4/12-

Specs

Tank: An ugly and cheap 4.5g tank with two divider spines messily siliconed in the center (haha!).
Filtration: None
Substrate:Thin layer of Eco-Complete topped with natural smaller than dime sized natural pebble gravel- all excess from other tanks.

Lighting:a 6500K daylight CFL, about 9hrs/day
CO2: Hagen Nutrafin natural fermentation set up, about 1 bubble every 2-4 seconds
Ferts: No liquid yet, one Flourish root tab
Parameters:Ammonia, Nitrates and Nitrite: 0, pH After 2 hrs: 7.4-7.6
Temp: Around 73-76'F, unheated

Plants:
All plants are clippings from our display tanks and my old grow out tank.

Rotala rotundifolia
Ceratopteris thalictroides (water sprite)
Hydrocotyle leucocephala (brazillian pennywort)
seuesswassertang
YOUNG Java ferns
Anubias nana and petite
a dormant Nymphoides aquatica (banana lily)
some sort of redish water lily
bacopa monnieri (moneywort)

Hardscape:
Two small terra cotta pots from established tanks (to be removed)

Inhabitants:
A sad, lone MTS

6/5/12:

Params: pH went from 7.5 to 6.6 in about 12 hours... YIKES!

Plants: