20 gal long, a starter tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
Send a message via Yahoo to chadly
20 gal long, a starter tank

I'm relatively new to the planted tank world. I started running this tank about 2 years ago. It started out w/ just playsand as a substrate, some fake plants and sandstone. Later, I removed all the fake plants and added some gravel. The first live plants I added were amazon swords. Not the best first choice, but I already had them so what the hey. As I learn more, and earn more, I'll be adding better lighting, possibly injected co2 and some different plants.'

Heres a few shots from before:

very first pic of this tank(may, 2003):

w/ the first amazon swords (oct, 2004):

last month (april 15,2005):
I recently added some crypt. wendtii, dwarf saggitaria, and camboba. I put in a couple pieces of wood I treated previously, and some chunks of peat.

2 days ago (may 17, 2005):
The current fish inhabitants are 3 guppies, 3 sticklebacks, and 1 fathead minnow. The pics are a little dark, sorry.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Join today!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 03:16 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

added a few plecos

- Join today!

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 05:17 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Very dark, mysterious, strange (in a nice way) and not a natural tank. When I look at the tank, I can see traces of human civilization there. ;-
)

What is the light level for the tank?

Suggestion :-
1) Perhaps more plants?

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 05:22 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (86/100%)