Triple tank home build - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 02:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Triple tank home build

Notes: As I build this journal please feel free to comment and ask questions. I am still learning the fine art of the freshwater tank and this will be my first attempt at raising and breeding shrimp. As I don't always have time to update this journal as I make changes, I make it a habit to date my entries with the date they occurred so everything will make logical sense.

Well, after spending a few months playing around with a 92 gallon corner tank (see my journal here) with a depth of 36" and height of 24" I decided that bigger isn't always better. I wanted something smaller where everything in easy to reach. Decided 20 gallon max to satisfy this. I also refuse to have a closed top again. It seems like I always finish maintenance, put the hood back on, sit down, and then see something else I want to fix. No more! This tank will have no hood. I always seem to be wanting to try out new ideas so multiple tanks will be needed. Additionally, I hate seeing equipment drape down the side or behind my tank. I put all these previously learned lessons together and came up with my new tank design. Of course finding something to these exacting specifications was proving difficult so I decided to build my own.

March 12, 2012
It begins!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 02:54 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (59/100%)
This is interesting. Will the bottom two be for quarantine/odds and ends? I'm guessing they will be 10 gallon cubes?

Definitely do an open top. I can't imagine hooded tanks. It'd drive me nuts.

"Space and light and order. Those are the things that men need just as much as they need bread or a place to sleep."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.