Moon's 10 Gallon Journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
Moon's 10 Gallon Journal

Good Afternoon,

I started this tank about 8 years ago, when I first got my Red Ear Sliders. They moved to a bigger tank, so this became a first tank! The only problem was that they scratched up the glass pretty good, but oh well.

Here goes the tank, before it was a planted tank:

(3-3-11)

The reason why I started to add plants, was to help with control nitrites in my tank, the first plant that was added was water wisteria. I got really good growth out of it, and liked the look it gave my tank.

I started posting on Monsterfishkeepers, and found about this site on that site. I became a member of this site May 2011. As a student, I couldnít really afford good plants, to change substrate, etc. I went for low light plants, which I knew I could grow. I bought most of that at Petsmart, and they were pretty cheap, I had coupons to use. I was also given some java moss by davek, which had someJava Fern Windelov in it! I attached the Java moss to a rock, with some of the Windelov on it. I also bought some RCS and cholla wood , with some guppy grass from joon. I put some neon tetras, and two apple snails. I also got paintball co2 set.

(8-7-11)

Flora:
Moneywort
Java Fern
Java Fern Windelov
Java Moss
lucky bamboo
Guppy Grass
anubias nanawater wisteria

Amazon Sword

Fauna:
RCS
Neon Tetra x 5
Glowlight Tetra x 2
4 Oto
1 bn Pleco