This is an unstoppable hobby! :) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2011, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
This is an unstoppable hobby! :)

Hello!

Well, first off I shall introduce myself a bit. I got my first real fish tank when I was 9. It was a 5 gallon tank and I've had fish for all but 2 years ever since! I am a college student so most of my fish keeping is diy. This can be anything from hoods and filters to random decor, fish tanks, etc. I will try to post pictures and instructions of what I make if anyone want to try them on their own.

I have 3 main tanks. The 10 gallon cichlid tank (for my roommate's fish), the 75 gallon community tank (owned by my college, cared for by me - I love my job) and my 55 gallon tank. The other two I will randomly mention will be my 3 gallon plastic tub that acts as a quarantine tank (custom filter) and my 15 gallon holding tank (will be gone when my 55 gallon gets set up).

To start this off, I figure I should tell you a bit about this custom filter I have in my quarantine tank. It's a very simple thing and works great for my purposes.

What you need:
a small container (I used the Ball Freezer storage jars from Walmart)
an air pump with tubing and stone
gravel

First thing to do is punch small holes in the bottom of the container. Then place air stone attached to tube inside container and fill with gravel about 2/3 the way full. (see attached picture). Then place some filter wool down into the top of it, place in tank and plug in the air pump. I can make 5 of these for less than $5 (excluding air pump).

For my quarantine tank I don't want the carbon or all the filtration, because depending on what I'm doing with it, depends on the needs.