An all natural planted soil tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-23-2011, 12:55 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
An all natural planted soil tank

Well after reading a post of mine in another thread a member asked me to start a thread about my natural tank so here goes.

It pretty much started with an ad in Craigslist. I've been keeping and breeding tropicals since 1980 so when I saw the ad for a Metaframe tank and stand for $30 it was a no brainer. Anyhow, these tanks are notorious for leaking so I set it up on the porch of my workshop to test it. After 2 weeks still no leaks. But I didn't have time to tear down the 29 in the kitchen and set up the "new" 55. So I threw in 2 bags of Big Box Store top soil. Went to Nolans and got some plants and put them in. Some Cabomba, temple, Amazon Sword, (that threw out 3 pups in no time), and a bunch of others I can't remember. They all grew like weeds. Trimming, replanting, trimming again. And on and on. Finally the time came to move the tank. Went to the Big Box Store and got a 35 gallon pond. Threw in another 2 bags of top soil. Added all the plants from the 55 and unloaded the dirt and put it aside. Things got delayed as life happens with a 2 year old. soil dried out. It rained and then dried out again. Finally the 55 was setup and soiled with a gravel cap. It has a Penguin filter and a bunch of gouramis. Needless to say the cabomba in that tank is gone.
So where does the natural tank come in? Right about here.