29 Gallon, First Planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-06-2011, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
29 Gallon, First Planted tank

Well, I had a 29 Gallon Fish tank I got as a birthday present a long time ago. I went off to college, and left it with my mom. I was keeping goldfish. That was a few years ago, so now I decided to start it up again at my new apartment.

The good/bad news is my mom took my light and ruined it. My camera is charging, but when I can I will take a pic of the plug. It seriously looks like she placed it in a wood chipper or something. I was a bit upset, but I decided this is a good excuse to start a journal and buy some new stuff! I will preface this with, I am a poor graduate student, so I'm a budget here. Or if I do cave and buy nicer quality things, I will have to just wait a bit long before I get everything up and running successfully.

I have to scrub the tank clean, and get rid of the gravel. I had white gravel, and I loved it, but I've always wanted some Elocharis acicularis (Dwarf hairgrass) and possible some Hemianthus callitrichoides (HC) in the front and do a Iwagami type tank. I've always like something like this, maybe even a little more simple than this.

I have always enjoyed things like this as well

Well with that being said I have been doing some browsing for a new light fixture and some CO2 things. I have been reading mixed reviews on almost everything I find, so I thought the best way to go was to ask if any one had personal experience with some of the things I am looking at. This will be the first time I jump into new lighting outside of the lighting that comes with the tank. So I will try to list what I have and some of the options I am looking at.

Tank:
29 Gallon Dimensions: 30 1/4"L x 12 1/2"W x 18 3/4"H

Stand: PetSmart Stand

Lighting:
I am shooting for something at least in the medium light range.
Possible choices: